Book Angel

As this blog draws to a close I though I would mention a great program that my local bookstore sponsor’s every year.  Each year they sponsor a holiday charity event called “book angel” where people from the local community come in and buy a book for a child in need. What is great about this program is that these books are locally purchased and given to local kids. The bookstore partners with local school districts and charities to provide books for these children.

Organizations will come into the store with a dollar amount and just buy tons of books for children, along with individuals purchasing just one. Each year, in addition to buying each of her children a book, my mom also donates a book in our name.

What I love about this program is that as I have learned so much about the impact of reading and all the drama that can surround book choices and politics in schools and libraries, the reality is books are still wanted and needed by children. Many of the children who receive these books can’t afford a book of their own, and while they have a library to visit, this program allows them to have one of their own. If a child does not have an adult bring them to a library for something to read, they will have something of their own. They will not be without a book.

I have found that throughout this course I have been wanting to go out and save the world! Make everyone literate and fight every injustice that keeps kids from reading, but the reality is I can’t. However, I can do little things. Like learning all I can to help those who will come to me for advice in a library one day.  A book angel is someone who provides those with a book to read, and while librarians seek to expand outward from services regarding just books, libraries still provide the books and they still need people to give them out, they still need their librarians to act as angels 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Angel

  1. Great post. I love the idea of purchasing books for children for Christmas. It is a wonderful idea. It reminded me of a similar charitable origination in the town where I work called the “Free Book Bike.” This runs in the summer (for obvious reasons when your using a bike) and a volunteer on a bike pulls along a cart full of books that have been collected. He/she rides through neighbor hoods or stops by the local farmers market and anyone who wants can come and take a book, or leave a book for the cart. It is extremely popular, when the cart comes full to the farmer’s market, it leaves empty. It is especially popular with children because it carries a large selection of picture books. It is another small way people can help spread literacy and love of reading.
    Again, great post. It warms my heart.

  2. That was a heart warming post! I think programs like that should be all over the country, because there are many children who do not have access to books and could use an angel to give them one. I am with you about changing the world one step at a time, together we can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

